Sunday, September 11, 2011

Penalty decision against Getafe was incorrect, but Cristiano Ronaldo is not a diver

Jose Mourinho has admitted that the penalty awarded to Cristiano Ronaldo during the club's 4-2 victory over Getafe was an incorrect call.

Real Madrid earned a vital second-half penalty through Ronaldo's tumble in the box after being challenged by the getafe defence. However, his coach has leapt to the player's defense, claiming that he does not dive like some of his more guilty fellow players.

"It was not a penalty, but Cristiano does not dive unlike some players,"
said Mourinho, whose reference could arguably be looked at as a cryptic message to Barcelona's Lionel Messi's attempt to fool the referee against Real Sociedad earlier Saturday.

Despite the debate surrounding the penalty decision, Mourinho did not forget to credit the opposition, which forced Madrid to work extremely hard for the three points.

"They played very well and we did not. After the penalty, we were better and I think we deserved to win," he said.

Real Madrid's victory puts them on the top od the Primera following Barcelona's 2-2 draw at San Sebastian.

No comments: